Research News

» Sumedha Shukla (Researcher, Econometrics Lab, IIIT-Delhi), presented her joint work with our faculty member, Dr. Gaurav Arora, on understanding the role of credit in agricultural risk mitigation at the Indian School of Public Policy (ISPP) as part of their Policy Praxis Lab. [Link]

» GB Pant Hospital in Delhi recently conducted a study wherein 134 patients who had fully recovered from Covid-19 underwent imaging test — speckle tracking echocardiography — to assess heart function and suggested that covid recovered people may require a closer and long-term follow-up for heart-related complications. SBILab of ECE Department at IIIT-Delhi was a part of this collaborative study and contributed in interpreting the imaging test reports using AI technology. [Link]

» The doctoral research of Dr Gayatri Nair has been published by the Oxford University Press. The book titled 'Set Adrift: Capitalist Transformations and Community Politics Along Mumbai's Shores' is an ethnographic study of the Koli community of Mumbai. [Link]

» Our PhD student Neetu R.R. has been granted the IIT Palakkad Technology iHub Foundation (IPTIF) DF Grant to support her doctoral studies at IIIT-Delhi under the supervision of Dr. Gourab Ghatak. With this grant, she will be investigating the project titled 'Intelligent IoT HetNets with Aerial Access Points for Public Protection and Disaster Relief.'

» Mohit Sharma, a PhD student with Midas Lab, IIIT-Delhi has been awarded the Joint PhD fellowship by Microsoft Research India, starting July 2021. Dr. Amit Deshpande from MSR India will be his co-supervisor, along with Dr. Rajiv Ratn Shah from IIIT-Delhi as supervisor.

» Our Ph.D. ECE student Bushra Ansari has been selected to present her research on "High-resolution satellite-based land surface monitoring using NavIC L5 signal" at the UN/Austria Symposium "Space Applications for Food Systems" organised by the United Nations Office of Outer Space Affairs. This research is supported by DST-SERB Early Career Research Award.

» Our B.Tech. CSD students Bhavya Chopra, Khushali Verma, Sonali Singhal, and Utsav Singla have won the second place in the Student Research Competition at CHI 2021 for their project, "Reality Tales: Facilitating User-Character Interaction with Immersive Storytelling". This work is a part of the DIS course project at the institute instructured by Dr. Aman Parnami.

» Dr. Sanat K Biswas has been selected for the Young Scientist Award 2021 by the International Union of Radio Science for his research on a theoretical comparison of NavIC and GPS Receiver Autonomous Integrity Monitoring (RAIM) performance. These awards are presented at the General Assemblies of URSI and at the URSI Atlantic Radio Science Conferences (AT-RASC) to recognize an international group of individuals who have made innovative contributions and discoveries in multidisciplinary research related to electromagnetic fields and waves.

» IIIT-Delhi students Pragya Sikka (B.Tech. CSE) and Srishti Sehgal (B.Tech. CSSS) from Team Art-Age have been awarded the third prize under the domain Art x Social Behaviour at Confluence Ideathon 2021 x Serendipity Arts Foundation, an initiative by Hero Enterprise. [Award Ceremony Link]

» Our student Aniket Gupta (B.Tech. ECE) receives the Popular Choice Award in Students Category at Josh Education Awards 2021 for his initiative The Tale of Humankind. These awards were presented in presence of the Hon'ble Education Minister of India Dr. Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank & Founder of Super 30, Mr. Anand Kumar.

» Dr. Sanat K Biswas as PI and Dr. Arun Balaji as Co-PI's project titled "Orbit computation of Resident Space Objects for Space Situational Awareness" has been accepted under National Super Computing Mission HPC Applications.

» Dr. Ranjini Ray (RA- Econometrics Lab; Mentor: Dr. Gaurav Arora) has won the Women Scientist Scheme-B (S&T interventions for societal benefit) fellowship under their Agriculture, Food and Environmental Challenges of DST.

» Our student Aniket Gupta (B.Tech, ECE) got selected among the cohort of top 19 Indians this year to join the global network of 'Ashoka Young Changemakers' who have launched their own initiative and created positive change in their communities. Through the ‘Ashoka Young Changemakers’ network, he will play an active role in creating a culture of empathy and entrepreneurship in Delhi and on the state and national scale.

» Sumeet Patiyal, (PhD CB student) got selected for the B4 workshop - Big Data in Life Sciences and Healthcare, hosted by the Mittal Institute’s B4 Program to bring together 25 talented Indian students and experts in the life sciences under the “Young Scientist Development Course.”

» The Research Paper "Efficient Post-Silicon Debug Platforms for Future Many-Core Systems" Sidhartha Sankar Rout, Dr. Sujay Deb, won the First Prize in the Student Research Forum of 34th International Conference on VLSI Design and 20th International Conference on Embedded System.

» Dr. Shireen Mirza has been awarded a 6 months fellowship at the International Centre of Advanced Studies: Metamorphoses of the Political (ICAS:MP), New Delhi, in its Thematic Module “Labour as a Political Category”. She will be working on the research topic “Caste and Urban Infrastructure: Waste‐work and animal slaughter on the margins of Mumbai”.

» Dr. Tavpritesh Sethi has been announced as the winner of CXO Health Excellence Award 2021 for his achievements in healthcare IT management and innovations.

» Research work on Hardware Security from Advanced Multicore Systems Lab was presented and won the Third Prize at Information Security Education and Awareness (ISEA) Virtual Presentation Conclave (IVPC) 2020. The awarded work titled "Security Threats in Channel Access Mechanism of Wireless NoC and Efficient Countermeasures" was led by Ph.D. scholar Sidhartha Sankar Rout and supervised by Associate Professor Dr. Sujay Deb. The research outcomes from this work are already published in the IEEE International Symposium on Circuits and Systems (ISCAS) 2020.

» Two IIITD students, Kajal Singla (M.Tech- CB) and Shubham Thakral (B.Tech- CSE) were felicitated by Dr. Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank (Union Education Minister) on the occasion of Republic Day among the other meritorious students across the country for excelling in the university examinations.

» B.Tech.-CSSS Student, Ruhma Mehek Khan has been awarded the Adobe India Women-in-Tech Scholarship. This scholarship aims to create gender equality in science, technology and engineering domains by encouraging women to showcase their excellence in computing and technology.